Sad Keanu is sad.

Sad Keanu is sad, because it’s been ages since I’ve blogged about my progress with learning to code.

Sad Keanu is also sad because there is often no coffee to aid coding

Sad Keanu is also sad because there is often no coffee to aid coding

I have indeed been working my way through the html, JavaScript and basic web tracks on codecademy.com over the past few months. But as a learning addict, among the other hobbies that keep me busy (learning espanol, reading maths books for funsies, resting in child’s pose, playing musical keyboards and travelling to Espana!) I haven’t found much time to post about my progress.

Also, Sad Keanu has been taking up much of my attentions, no matter how many tiny sandwiches I prepare for him in the hopes he will be cheered.

Sad Keanu, y u no eat my sand witches!?

Sad Keanu, y u no eat my sand witches!?

Oh yes, and there is something else that’s been occupying space in my noggin and killing my time, and that thing is a Raygun.

A raygun!? What the f...alefel?

A raygun!? What the f…alefel?

If I were you, I’d be thinking, what are you talking about, Willis? I shall explain. Put that coffee down!

Raygun.io is the newest product from Mindscape , and if you recall, this is the company for whom I work. As far as my understanding goes (and as you know, when it comes to things of a technical nature, I have the understanding of a gnat. Actually, that is uncalled for. Gnats could be very adept in the area of technology), Raygun is awesome for tracking, reporting and annihilating software errors.

So when whispers of rayguns and exception handling began to fly around the office (or rather, be sent electronically via IMs and magic) – I was somewhat confused about why exceptional things needed so much handling, and  what the hell a stack trace was. It just made me think of stacks of pancakes. And now I want pancakes. Jesus.

So, I decided one evening after beverages of happiness had been consumed (it was beer), that my new goal would be to carry on with Codecademy until I was proficient enough to build my own basic web app, and integrate Raygun into it so that I too, could throw an error.

But then when said drinks of happiness had worn off, I realised that such a task would be a slight challenge for me, known fearer of websites.

No, one does not.

No, one does not.

I realised that now it wasn’t just a case of working my way through Codecademy’s modules, and then feeling all happy and shiny when I got a new ‘I can do basic html’ badge – but that I actually needed to make a real, working app. That people might look at.

Where should one start on such a task!? I’ve grasped the basics of making a static webpage, but actually making it perform actions is beyond me. How do I code all the things!? What was your first app? How did you get started with coding? Leave your  comments below and make a girl feel better.

I want for this to not be a lie:

It looks like I know how to use it! Photo lies!

It looks like I know how to use it! Photo lies!

New challenge, accepted.

Word to ya mother. Hilldawg out.

2 Comments

Filed under Learning to code, The world of tech

2 responses to “Sad Keanu is sad.

  1. If one is done with static websites then the time has come to start with DHTML, Dynamic HTML! This will enhance your user experience on your websites.

    Learn a bit of a scripting language and start dynamically altering your websites based on the actions of your user. Go for it and make fewer pages for more content!

    Best way to handle this is to get on a computer with a stack of pancakes, because you will need its sweet flavour to entertain you while JavaScript annoys. Well, that is my experience with JavaScript!

  2. This just made me laugh out loud, seriously. “I was proficient enough to build my own basic web app, and integrate Raygun into it so that I too, could throw an error.” Good luck, its cool you are doing this.

Leave a Reply

